a song about healing

she said, this routine is cramping my style

haven’t been able to sleep in a while

don’t wanna be like my parents before me

but breaking this cycle’s not that easy

 

i said, healing is the key to relief

but we repress our hurt, repress our grief

until it’s a subtle aching

and we don’t know why our heart is breaking

 

run, run into my arms and i will hold you

i will fold you in with my Love

call, call out to me and i will see you

i will free you and i will be more than enough

 

he said, i want to be better than what i’ve known

i don’t know how to build a stable home

trying not to be like my father before me

but breaking the cycle hasn’t been easy

 

i said, our past fights to lay claim to us

burdened by hurt and broken trust

don’t let the past define who you’ll be

there’s hope beyond the misery

 

run, run into my arms and i will hold you

i will fold you in with my Love

call, call out to me and i will see you

i will free you and i will be more than enough

 

 

 

© 2011 Sarah Gallagher

Leave a Reply

